carolsmusingsdotcom

Gym, pups, and other interesting tid bits

Hello 2014! January 1, 2014

Filed under: Uncategorized — cgg111 @ 5:29 pm

2013 was a pretty awesome year.  I took on some pretty fun challenges from becoming a personal trainer, to managing a part time job plus working full time, to getting back into some pretty intense workouts.  I cannot wait to see what 2014 has in store for me:)  I love this little space I have to just write:)  I need to take advantage of it and use it more often.  Sadly, my last post was from August.  This is what happens when I get busy, I suppose.  So one goal I have for this year to step out of my comfort zone more often.  I got the job at the Y by taking a chance.  I got a new “classroom” by taking a chance.  Time to make the most of things and think more positively.

Monday morning I headed to the gym a little later than I normally would have.  Staying up late and watching the Eagles actually win a game trumped early AM gym time.  Away I went to the 9 AM class which is with a trainer I personally do not like.  He is very arrogant, makes many inappropriate remarks and just makes me feel uncomfortable in general.  Talk about stepping out of your comfort zone.  I hit up “my” spin bike before class in hopes of offsetting my nerves a little.  This guy really gives me the creeps, but I am sure there are plenty of patrons who think he is amazing.  I do not.

I watched this trainer struggle to set up the equipment needed for our workout.  I listen to him yell at us that this was not a social hour.  I even tuned him out when he made his juvenile remarks that belong in a locker room, maybe.  I busted out the workout and laughed when one of the other participants in the class commented that he could not have done that workout.  I think she was right.  He was content to sit on a plyo box and just kinda watch/laugh to himself that we were struggling to get through this killer workout he designed.  WHATEVER.  I stepped out of my comfort zone, went to a class with a trainer I cannot stand, and did an amazing job!

Here’s to an incredible 2014!  Looking forward to many exciting opportunities!   

 

Leave a Reply

